top of page
  • Writer's pictureisly silva

Tame the Mane

Braids have been a way for young/old woman and men to manage their hair. This not only a Hairstyle but a form of art. Braiding is a very old tradition and has been used by the African Culture since 3500 BC.

To many, single braids demonstrate the symbol of strength and wisdom, people of the community have said it allows them to connect with their ancestors and develop a stronger sense of self and identity. Each strand of hair goes through it's own journey of entangling with one another as the hands spell out a specific intention or message.


Over time braids have had many uses, In times of slavery it was used as survival tactics as a form of communication, to map out escape routes. A specific method that was used to help woman escape would be mapping out the path of the road rightly to the scalp of the head, showing a clear path to freedom.


Braids are indigenous and are used in native culture it is said that braiding your hair is very sacred, as you are putting your intentions into your art. Setting goals, boundaries and standards, facing fears, establishing positive communication with your ancestors. Trusting the direction of the hair and forming an alliance with you and your hair.


Woman feel as braiding hair is therapeutic, a time for bonding, connecting, sharing stories about life experiences. It's a good time to reflect with your past, enjoy the present and affirm the future.




"Hey my names Isly Silva, I am the founder of Inner Beauty - I'd like to share a little bit about my hair journey and how its gotten to where it is today. Growing up I didn't have anyone to braid my hair, I would pony tail it, bun it, or straighten it. None of them felt enough like me and caused damage. So one day about 3 years ago I decided for a music video I was going to braid my hair and show my viewers what I felt like on the inside. t The part of me that felt missing. A sense of identity and understanding my wisdom and strength.t When I looked at myself in the mirror I'd never felt more beautiful. I was finding home within myself. I was truly in my entity."

40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commenti


bottom of page